Celebration of Teaching Awards 2016

Congratulations to the recipients of this year’s awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Education!  These awards will be presented at the 23rd Annual Celebration of Teaching, which will be held on Thurs., May 5, 2016 from 4:30-7:00 in the Student Center, Doheny Beach, Rooms A&B (reception and photo op follows).  To attend the ceremony, please R.S.V.P. no later than May 3, 2016, to Brenda Fisher at blfisher@uci.edu or call (949) 824-6060.
The following recipients were competitively selected by the Academic Senate Council on Student Experience based on nominations made by faculty and students.  Monetary awards are provided by the Vice Provost of Teaching & Learning, Division of Teaching & Learning (Professor & Lecturer of the Year Awards & TA Professional Development Award); Graduate Division (Most Promising Future Faculty Awards); and the Office of Information Technology (Instructional Technology Innovation Award).  The Center for Engaged Instruction provides recipients of all awards with beautifully engraved awards and hosts the reception.

Please join us in congratulating the following recipients:

Prof. of the Year ($1000)

  • Keith Murphy
  • Anthropology
  • School of Social Sciences

Lecturer of the Year ($1000)

  • Amanda Holton
  • Chemistry
  • School of Physical Sciences

Instructional Technology Innovation ($1000 ea) (Co-Award)

  • Marcelo Wood
  • Neurobiology & Behavioral Sciences
  • Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences
  • Mathew Beckmann
  • Political Science
  • School of Social Sciences

Most Promising Future Faculty Members (1-quarter dissertation fellowship & fee waiver)

  • Sharon Shenhav
  • Psychology & Social Behavior
  • School of Social Ecology

TA Professional Development Award ($1000)

  • Julie Ferguson
  • Earth System Science

In addition, there were Dean’s Honorees selected by the School to be honored for their undergraduate teaching accomplishments, along with the 2015-16 Pedagogical Fellows, who will be honored for their service to the UCI Campus Community. Please see complete list of awardees on our website at http://cei.uci.edu/programs/celebration-of-teaching/